What might I like my kids to learn about life?: in search of “tradition”.

Michael Newton:

A very thoughtful exploration of “tradition” – its enduring power, dangers and relevance in charting the future.

Originally posted on Anthony McCann's writings on this, that and th'other:

If you like what you read here and elsewhere on this blog, please consider contributing to my crowdfunding efforts at Gittip.com/anthonymccann

2011. Journal of Ethnology and Folkloristics 4(1):75-92

“Our study must push beyond things to meanings, and grope through meanings to values. Study must rise to perplex and stand to become part of a critical endeavour. We study others so their humanity will bring our own into awareness, so the future will be better than the past” (Glassie, 1995:xiv). 

Personal Prologue [1]
“I rhyme to see myself, to set the darkness echoing” (Seamus Heaney, ‘Personal Helicon’, 1966).

My father passed away last year [2008]. As I think on his passing, I find myself reaching out to understand what it has meant to be a son. What it still means. I find myself searching for words to express what I learned from the man I loved as a friend…

View original 8,702 more words

Leave a Reply

